© PUBLIC NOTICE

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

> DA 17-857 Released: September 8, 2017

FCC ANNOUNCES THE MEMBERSHIP, FIRST MEETING, AND DOCKET NUMBER OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY AND DIGITAL EMPOWERMENT

GN Docket No. 17-208

This Public Notice serves as notice that, consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act,¹ Federal Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) Chairman Ajit Pai has appointed members to serve on the Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment (ACDDE). The ACDDE will hold its first meeting on **Monday, September 25, 2017**, from 10:00 am to 1:00 pm, in the Commission Meeting Room at FCC Headquarters, located at 445 12th Street, SW, Room TW-C305, Washington, DC 20554. Notice of this meeting has been published in the Federal Register.²

This Public Notice also establishes a docket number for the ACDDE (GN Docket No. 17-208). The docket is being created to enable members of the public to submit comments or other documents to the ACDDE in the FCC's Electronic Comment Filing System, ECFS, at <u>www.fcc.gov/ecfs</u>.

Chairman Pai has designated Julia Johnson, President, NetCommunications, LLC, to serve as Chair of the ACDDE, and Diane Sutter, President/CEO, ShootingStar Broadcasting, to serve as Vice Chair. A full list of ACDDE members is attached to this Public Notice.

In addition, the Chairman has identified three working groups that will assist the ACDDE in carrying out its work. These working groups will be entitled *Broadcast Diversity and Development*, *Digital Empowerment and Inclusion*, and *Diversity in the Tech Sector*. The composition of these three working groups will be announced in the future.

The primary agenda of the ACDDE's first meeting will be to introduce the members of the Committee, set out initial assignments, and begin the selection process for working group membership. The ACDDE will also begin discussing its mission to provide recommendations to the FCC on how to empower disadvantaged communities and accelerate the entry of small businesses, including those owned

¹ 5 U.S.C. App. 2.

² Federal Communications Commission, Federal Advisory Committee, Diversity and Digital Empowerment Notice, 82 Fed. Reg. 41623 (Sept. 1, 2017), <u>https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2017-09-01/pdf/2017-18550.pdf</u>.

by women and minorities, into the media, digital news and information, and audio and video programming industries, including as owners, suppliers, and employees, as well as recommendations on how to ensure that disadvantaged communities are not denied the wide range of opportunities made possible by next-generation networks.

The ACDDE meeting is open to the public. The FCC will accommodate as many attendees as possible; however, admittance will be limited to seating availability. The Commission will also provide audio and/or video coverage of the meeting over the Internet from the FCC's web page at <u>www.fcc.gov/live</u>. Open captioning will be provided for this event. Other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities are available upon request. Requests for such accommodations should be submitted via e-mail to <u>fcc504@fcc.gov</u> or by calling the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice), (202) 418-0432 (TTY). Such requests should include a detailed description of the accommodation needed. In addition, please include a way for the FCC to contact the requester if more information is needed to fill the request. Please allow at least five days advance notice for accommodation requests; last minute requests will be accepted, but may not be possible to accommodate.

Members of the public may submit comments to the ACDDE in the FCC's Electronic Comment Filing System, ECFS, at <u>www.fcc.gov/ecfs</u>. Comments to the ACDDE should be filed in GN Docket No. 17-208.

More information about the ACDDE is available at <u>https://www.fcc.gov/advisory-committee-diversity-and-digital-enpowerment</u>. You may also contact Jamila Bess Johnson, the Designated Federal Officer for the Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment, at (202) 418-2608, or <u>Jamila-Bess.Johnson@fcc.gov</u>, or Brenda Villanueva, the Deputy Designated Federal Officer, at (202) 418-7005 or <u>Brenda.Villanueva@fcc.gov</u>.

- FCC –

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY AND DIGITAL EMPOWERMENT

Jamila Bess Johnson, Designated Federal Officer Brenda Villanueva, Deputy Designated Federal Officer

Chair:

Julia Johnson, President NetCommunications, LLC

Vice Chair: Diane Sutter, President/CEO ShootingStar Broadcasting

Members:

Kathleen Q. Abernathy, Special Counsel, Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLC *Subject Matter Expert/Special Government Employee*

Maria E. Brennan, President and CEO *Women in Cable Telecommunications*

Rudy Brioche, Vice President and Counsel, Global Public Policy Comcast Corporation

Ron Busby, Sr., President and CEO U.S. Black Chambers, Inc.

Victor X. Cerda, Senior Vice President *V-me Media, Inc.*

Brigitte F. Daniel, Esq., Executive Vice President *Wilco Electronic Systems, Inc.*

Jannette L. Dates, Dean Emerita, Howard University School of Communications Subject Matter Expert/Special Government Employee

Linda Spradley Dunn, CEO and Founder *Odyssey Media*

Donna M. Epps, Vice President of Public Policy and Strategic Alliances *Verizon*

Andre Fernandez, President and CEO, CBS Radio CBS Corporation

Maurita Coley Flippin, Executive Vice President Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council

Heather Gate, Director of Digital Inclusion *Connected Nation*

David Honig, Principal and CEO JulGlo Productions

Janice Bryant Howroyd, Founder and CEO, Act-1 Group Subject Matter Expert/Special Government Employee

Dr. Ronald Johnson, Chief Subject Matter Expert – Diversity and Inclusion *The Wireless Infrastructure Association*

Sherman K. Kizart, Managing Director and Founder *Kizart Media Partners*

Fatema Kothari, Vice President San Francisco Bay Area Internet Society

Mario Lopez, President *Hispanic Leadership Fund*

Marc H. Morial, President and CEO *National Urban League*

Javier Palomarez, President and CEO United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Henry Rivera, Senior Advisor Emma Bowen Foundation

Alfredo Rodriguez, Vice President, DishLATINO *Dish Network*

Brian Scarpelli, Senior Policy Counsel *ACT/The App Association*

Cindy (Xin) Shao, President Asian American Chamber of Commerce

Marie R. Sylla-Dixon, Vice President, Federal Government and External Affairs, T-Mobile USA *T-Mobile US, Inc.*

Dr. Nicol Turner-Lee, Resident Fellow, Brookings Institution Center for Technology Innovation – Governance Studies *Brookings Institution*

Brent Wilkes, CEO League of Latin American Citizens

James L. Winston, President National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters

Chris Wood, Executive Director LGBT Technology Partnership & Institute